follow us on:

Join Winmau on Facebook

Join Winmau on Twitter

World Masters History

The BDO Winmau World Masters is the oldest established major darts tournament in the world and second only in importance to the BDO Lakeside World Professional Darts Championships.

It was first played in 1974, and the 2018 Masters will celebrate 45 consecutive years of Winmau World Masters darts.

The Men's Masters features the top sixteen ranked players in the BDO Invitation tables – guaranteeing the top players being on stage as an attraction to both venue and TV audiences.

Players from seventy-two countries are invited, including Champions from over 300 national and international singles events worldwide.

An estimated 5,000 darts fans, players and officials are expected to attend the competition.

The World Masters is unique in being the only official Singles Championships in world darts that has five separate stand-alone World titles in one weekend:

Men’s Masters
Women’s Masters
Boys Masters
Girls Masters
WDDA Masters

Importantly, there is a clear link between the World Masters and the Lakeside World Professional Darts Championships, which emphasises their dual importance in televised world darts. If the winners of the Men's and Women's World Masters have not already qualified for Lakeside, then they will gain automatic entry into the World Professional as the current Winmau World Masters Champions.

This ensures the seamless link between the two BDO televised majors and clearly illustrates their importance to World darts and to the top men and women players around the globe.


We promise to look after your email address
and not share it with anyone